Space:1999 Logo 'Black Sun'
by David Weir
1999 Cast

The Moon is pulled towards a black sun, a rare phenomenon with powerful gravitational forces caused by the collapse of a stellar mass. Alpha sends out a reconnaissance Eagle to investigate, but the craft is caught in the black sun’s gravity influence and is destroyed. After Professor Bergman estimates that the Moon will suffer the same fate in just three days, he begins work on designing a force shield in an attempt to prevent Alpha’s destruction. Commander Koenig also decides to launch an Eagle with a crew of six aboard, hoping that these few may escape the pull of the sun and find a habitable planet to settle on. Amongst the survivors chosen is Doctor Russell; the Eagle departs as the Moon begins to plunge into the sun. Koenig and Bergman await their imminent destruction, but as the Moon passes through the black sun, they become incorporeal and encounter an omnipotent being who reveals the secrets of the universe to them...

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Barry Morse (Professor Victor Bergman), Prentis Hancock (Paul Morrow), Nick Tate (Captain Alan Carter), Zienia Merton (Sandra Benes), Clifton Jones (David Kano), Anton Phillips (Doctor Bob Mathias), Suzanne Roquette (Tanya Alexander), Paul Jones (Mike Ryan), Jon Laurimore (Smitty), Vincent Wong (Toshira Fujita), Loftus Burton, Andrew Dempsey, Chai Lee, Michael Stevens, Marc Zuber (Main Mission Operatives), Tony Allyn, Quentin Pierre (Security Guards)

Directed by Lee H. Katzin
Produced by Sylvia Anderson
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
November 6th, 1975

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Professor Victor Bergman, Paul Morrow, Captain Alan Carter, David Kano, Sandra Benes and Doctor Bob Mathias