Space:1999 Logo 'Breakaway'
by George Bellak
and Christopher Penfold*
1999 Cast

On September 9th, 1999, Commander John Koenig arrives at Moonbase Alpha to supervise the preparation of a manned probe which is to be sent to the newly-discovered planet Meta. Meanwhile, Doctor Helena Russell is investigating a series of strange deaths: nine astronauts have recently gone berserk and then died from a mysterious illness; she is convinced that radiation is the cause, but when an investigation of the Moon's nuclear waste disposal areas indicates no signs of radiation leakage, but instead shows an intense build-up of heat, Professor Victor Bergman suggests that increased magnetic output is the real threat, and is responsible for affecting the victims’ brains. His fears are confirmed, when, on September 13th, one of the nuclear waste areas explodes; the only way to avert a major disaster is to move the remaining nuclear waste canisters to another area, but a sudden increase in magnetic radiation sets off a chain reaction, resulting in a series of massive explosions. The Moon's gravitational field is altered, blasting it out of Earth orbit; evacuation is impossible as the short-range Eagle spacecraft are unable to reach Earth. Commander Koenig and the stranded Alphans are sent hurtling off into space…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Barry Morse (Professor Victor Bergman), Prentis Hancock (Paul Morrow), Nick Tate (Captain Alan Carter), Zienia Merton (Sandra Benes), Anton Phillips (Doctor Bob Mathias), Suzanne Roquette (Tanya Alexander), Roy Dotrice (Commissioner Gerald Simmonds), Philip Madoc (Commander Gorski), Lon Satton (Benjamin Ouma), Eric Carte (Eddie Collins), Don Fellows (GTV Newsreader), Roy Scammell (Jim Nordstrom), Alf Joint (Steiner), Loftus Burton, Chai Lee, Paul Weston, Norma West, Valerie Van Ost (Main Mission Operatives), Tony Allyn, Quentin Pierre (Security Guards), Laurie Davis (Eagle Stewardess), Shane Rimmer (Voice of Eagle Pilot)

Directed by Lee H. Katzin
Produced by Sylvia Anderson
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
September 4th, 1975

*Introducing Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Professor Victor Bergman, Paul Morrow, Captain Alan Carter, Sandra Benes and Doctor Bob Mathias

*This episode was originally scripted as a ninety-minute episode by George Bellak being completely re-written by Christopher Penfold

*Working titles: ‘Zero G’, ‘The Void Ahead’, ’Turning Point’