Space:1999 Logo 'Devil's Planet'
by Michael Winder
1999 Cast

After receiving a distress signal from the planet Ellna, Commander Koenig and Maine take an Eagle to help. On arriving on the surface they see a man materialise inside a transparent box, but when he steps out he immediately dies. Puzzled, they then detect humanoid life-forms on the moon of Entra and set off to investigate, but their ship goes out of control and crashes. Leaving the wreckage, they go to the aid of a man being pursued by a group of women armed with whips, but Maine is vaporised by a force-field and Koenig is captured. He is taken to a huge complex and meets Overseer Elizia, who explains that Entra is a penal colony for exiles; prisoners kept in line with the promise that if they can evade capture by the guards when chosen to take part in a hunt, they can return home to Ellna. Realising that Koenig has seen that Ellna’s atmosphere contains a deadly pathogen, Eliziz decides to ensure his silence him by holding him prisoner and telling the Alphans that he died in the crash…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Catherine Schell (Maya), Tony Anholt (Tony Verdeschi), John Hug (Bill Fraser), Hildegard Neil (Elizia), Roy Marsden (Crael), Sam Dastor (Doctor Ed Spencer), Alibe Parsons (Alibe), Dora Reisser (Interrogator), Cassandra Harris (Sares / Controller), Angus MacInnes (Jelto), Arthur White (Kinano), Michael Dickinson (Blake Maine)

Directed by Tom Clegg
Produced by Fred Freiberger
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
September 1st, 1977

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Maya, Tony Verdeschi and Bill Fraser

*Working title: ‘Devil's Moon’