Space:1999 Logo 'Guardian of Piri'
by Christopher Penfold*

(Story by David Weir*)
1999 Cast

A mysterious force takes over Moonbase Alpha’s main computer and reports that the nearby planet of Piri is the perfect world that the Alphans have been searching for. After an Eagle is sent to investigate, the crew goes missing, prompting Commander Koenig to decide to lead a search party. Landing on the planet, he discovers that Piri is completely lifeless apart from a beautiful girl who proclaims to be the Guardian of Piri. Koenig finds the missing crewmen but they are unwilling to leave, preferring to live in ‘paradise’ on Piri. Returning to Alpha, Koenig is betrayed by his colleagues who have succumbed to the Guardian's influence. They begin Operation Exodus - the complete evacuation of the base - and head for the planet below. After the Guardian appears and taunts Koenig he decides to return to the planet to free his crew from their living death under her hypnosis…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Barry Morse (Professor Victor Bergman), Prentis Hancock (Paul Morrow), Nick Tate (Captain Alan Carter), Zienia Merton (Sandra Benes), Clifton Jones (David Kano), Anton Phillips (Doctor Bob Mathias), Suzanne Roquette (Tanya Alexander), Catherine Schell (Servant of the Guardian), Michael Culver (Peter Irving), John Lee-Barber (Eagle Co-Pilot), James Fagan (Ken Johnson), June Bolton, Loftus Burton, Andrew Dempsey, Christine Donna, Raymond Harris, Michael Stevens (Main Mission Operatives), Tony Allyn (Security Guard), Gareth Hunt (Eagle Pilot), John Gleeson (Ed Davis), Anne Henson (Sarah Graham), Trevor Ainsley (Technician), Juliet King, Jodi Sherwood, Willow (Nurses)

Directed by Charles Crichton
Produced by Sylvia Anderson
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
November 13th, 1975

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Professor Victor Bergman, Paul Morrow, Captain Alan Carter, David Kano, Sandra Benes and Doctor Bob Mathias

*Working title: ‘Nobody's Perfect’