Space:1999 Logo 'The Last Sunset'
by Christopher Penfold
1999 Cast

When the rogue Moon hurtles towards the planet Ariel, countless alien devices suddenly appear over Alpha and land on the surface. Commander Koenig suspects that this may be an alien attack, but he and the base’s personnel are surprised when the devices release oxygen, turning the lunar surface into a habitable world with blue skies and a warm sun. As the Alphans leave the confines of the base to enjoy the freedom that this transformation has given them, Doctor Russell and a team leave in an Eagle to look for a suitable area on higher ground where they can begin a new settlement. However, a violent storm soon develops on the lunar surface, causing the Eagle to crash and stranding the team miles away from the Moonbase. While search parties try to locate the missing survey team, Koenig and Professor Bergman realise that the Moon will not achieve orbit around Ariel as they had hoped - the lack of sunlight will result in the atmosphere shrinking into an icecap, crushing Alpha…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Barry Morse (Professor Victor Bergman), Prentis Hancock (Paul Morrow), Nick Tate (Captain Alan Carter), Zienia Merton (Sandra Benes), Clifton Jones (David Kano), Anton Phillips (Doctor Bob Mathias), Suzanne Roquette (Tanya Alexander), James Fagan (Ken Johnson), Loftus Burton, Sarah Bullen, Andrew Dempsey, Robert Philips, Michael Stevens, Maureen Tan, Lynda Westover (Main Mission Operatives), Quentin Pierre (Security Guard), Richard Adams, Janet Allen, Guy Francis Groen, Jack McKenzie, Linzy Scott, Anita West (Alphans)

Directed by Charles Crichton
Produced by Sylvia Anderson
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
January 1st, 1976

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Professor Victor Bergman, Paul Morrow, Captain Alan Carter, David Kano, Sandra Benes and Doctor Bob Mathias