Space:1999 Logo 'One Moment of Humanity'
by Tony Barwick
1999 Cast

Moonbase Alpha is struck by a mysterious power loss and an alien woman named Zamara materialises before the Alphans. Zamara demands that two of them return with her to the planet Vega; she mistakes Doctor Russell and Tony Verdeschi for lovers and forces them to travel with her using positronic transfer - the power of their own concentration. After she and Tony are greeted by the apparently hostile Vegans, Doctor Russell is warned by one of the servants, Number 8, that if they display any sign of aggression the Vegans will kill them and all of Alpha; despite being goaded by insults Doctor Russell and Verdeschi are able to stay calm. After escaping from the Vegans the two of them find Number 8 in the caves underneath the city; he reveals that he and his fellow servants are the true Vegans, forced to hide their faces beneath masks to conceal their emotions from the others, who are in fact androids. It seems that these androids have never seen violence, and do not possess the emotions of anger or aggression - they want the Alphans to teach them how to kill…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Catherine Schell (Maya), Tony Anholt (Tony Verdeschi), Nick Tate (Captain Alan Carter), Zienia Merton (Sandra Benes), Billie Whitelaw (Zamara), Leigh Lawson (Zarl), Geoffrey Bayldon (Number Eight), Sarah Bullen (Operative Kate), Hilary Ding, Maggie Henderson, Laraine Humphrys, Zena Clifton, Jason Mitchell, Paul Hastings, Barry Rohde, Jurgen Andersen (Vegans)

Directed by Charles Crichton
Produced by Fred Freiberger
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
September 25th, 1976

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Maya, Tony Verdeschi, Captain Alan Carter and Sandra Benes

*Working title: ‘One Second Of Humanity’