Space:1999 Logo 'The Rules of Luton'
by Charles Woodgrove
1999 Cast

Commander Koenig, Maya and Verdeschi visit Luton, a nearby planet rich in vegetation; but when their Eagle registers a malfunction, Verdeschi returns to Alpha to collect a replacement, leaving Koenig and Maya on the planet. As they explore the surface Koenig tastes some berries while Maya picks a flower. Suddenly a voice thunders out, accusing them of being cannibals and murderers; the three trees known as the Judges of Luton decree that Koenig and Maya have violated the laws of the sentient plantlife and are to be punished. The only way to prove their innocence is in trial by combat - against three fearsome aliens, each of whom has a different deadly super power…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Catherine Schell (Maya), Tony Anholt (Tony Verdeschi), Yasuko Nagazumi (Yasko Nugami), David Jackson (Alien Strong / Voice of Judges), Godfrey James (Alien Transporter), Roy Marsden (Alien Invisible), Annie Lambert (First Operative)

Directed by Val Guest
Produced by Fred Freiberger
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
October 21st, 1976

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Maya and Tony Verdeschi