Space:1999 Logo 'The Séance Spectre'
by Donald James
1999 Cast

When the Moon encounters a strange phenomenon in space, a group of Alphans led by Greg Sanderson become convinced that it contains a habitable planet. Commander Koenig suspects that is a false alarm, and he puts the Command Centre off limits while he takes an Eagle and investigates. However Sanderson and the others take over the Command Centre and then hold a séance, which shows them a vision of the habitable planet Tora. When Koenig returns and resumes command, Sanderson accuses him of deliberately hiding the existence of Tora for fear of losing his dictatorial control. Koenig decides to take an Eagle on a reconnaissance mission and discovers that the phenomenon is now on a collision course with the Moon. Meanwhile, Doctor Russell believes that Sanderson is suffering from ‘greensickness’, a condition caused by the lack of earth-type greenery, but Sanderson rejects her claims, and with the help of his friends he breaks out of the Medical Centre and holds another séance, causing Koenig’s Eagle to crash onto the surface of Tora. Koenig, Maya and Carter now find themselves on a barren world with very little air - and with their oxygen plant severely damaged, their time is running out…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Catherine Schell (Maya), Tony Anholt (Tony Verdeschi), Nick Tate (Captain Alan Carter), Zienia Merton (Sandra Benes), Ken Hutchison (Greg Sanderson), Carolyn Seymour (Eva), Nigel Pegram (Cernik), James Snell (Stevens), Christopher Asante (Guard)

Directed by Peter Medak
Produced by Fred Freiberger
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
August 18th, 1977

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Maya, Tony Verdeschi, Captain Alan Carter and Sandra Benes

*Working title: ‘The Mutiny’