Space:1999 Logo 'Seed of Destruction'
by John Goldsmith
1999 Cast

When a jewel-like asteroid approaches Moonbase Alpha and begins to drain its power, Commander Koenig and Carter set off in an Eagle to investigate. But after entering a cave, Koenig finds himself trapped in a hall of mirrors, and is attacked by an evil reflection of himself, who knocks him unconscious and then returns to Alpha in his place, taking with him a chunk of crystal. Back at Alpha, ‘Koenig’ orders that an energy beam be directed at the asteroid in order to neutralise an energy screen that apparently surrounds the Moon. Doctor Russell is concerned, as the power drain will affect their life support system; ‘Koenig’ then refuses to allow Maya to examine the crystal or find another way of piercing the screen, and when she questions his decisions she is confined to her quarters. Worried by the Commander’s increasingly erratic behaviour, Maya, Doctor Russell and Verdeschi manage to analyse the crystal, only to discover that it is actually a complex form of living matter in a dormant state, like a seed. Meanwhile, the real Koenig hears a voice calling itself ‘The Voice of Kalthon’, an alien entity that plans to use the energy beam to restore life to its civilisation - at the cost of all life on Alpha…

Martin Landau (Commander John Koenig), Barbara Bain (Doctor Helena Russell), Catherine Schell (Maya), Tony Anholt (Tony Verdeschi), Nick Tate (Captain Alan Carter), Zienia Merton (Sandra Benes), Jeffery Kissoon (Doctor Ben Vincent), Martha Nairn (Female Operative), Jack Klaff, James Leith (Guards), Albin Pahernik (Creature)

Directed by Kevin Connor
Produced by Fred Freiberger
Series created by Gerry and Sylvia Anderson

UK (ATV Midlands):
November 11th, 1976

*Featuring Commander John Koenig, Doctor Helena Russell, Maya, Tony Verdeschi, Alan Carter and Sandra Benes