Doctor Who Logo 'Black Orchid'
(2 Parts)
Story Code '6A'

by Terence Dudley
The Doctor

The TARDIS arrives at a train station, Cranleigh Halt, in 1925, where the Doctor and his companions are given a warm welcome by the local gentry. The Doctor takes part in a cricket match, where he gives a superb performance, and is then invited to a masked ball that is to be held that evening by Lady Cranleigh and her son Charles. They meet Charles's fiancée, Ann, who is almost the exact double of Nyssa. That evening, as the Doctor, Nyssa, Tegan and Adric prepare for the party, a mysterious man steals the Doctor's Pierrot costume, murders a servant and attacks Ann. The Doctor is blamed for the death, but then discovers that the murderer is George Cranleigh, Charles's brother and Anne's original fiancé, who was thought to have been killed whilst exploring the Amazon basin. When George attempted to steal the natives' scared symbol, the Black Orchid, they cut out his tongue and scarred him horrifically, and now, driven mad by his experience and the knowledge that Anne is to marry his brother, he now lives a life of seclusion in the manor's attic, his existence known only by Lady Cranleigh. George is locked up in the attic once more, but he escapes, causing a fire in the process. Mistaking Nyssa for Ann, George seizes her and climbs to the roof of the manor. The Doctor attempts to reason with him, and manages to persuade him to release Nyssa, but when Charles steps forward to hug his brother George panics and falls to his death. The Doctor and his friends stay for George's funeral.

Peter Davison (The Doctor), Matthew Waterhouse (Adric), Janet Fielding (Tegan), Sarah Sutton (Nyssa/Ann), Barbara Murray (Lady Cranleigh), Moray Watson (Sir Robert Muir), Michael Cochrane (Lord Cranleigh), Brian Hawksley (Brewster), Timothy Block (Tanner), Ahmed Khalil (Latoni), Gareth Milne (The Unknown/George Cranleigh), Ivor Salter (Sergeant Markham), Andrew Tourell (Constable Cummings)

Produced by John Nathan-Turner
Directed by Ron Jones

Part 1 - 1st March, 1982 @ 6.55pm - 7.20pm
Part 2 - 2nd March, 1982 @ 7.05pm - 7.30pm

*Featuring the Fifth Doctor, Adric, Nyssa and Tegan

*This is the first purely-historical television story since 'The Highlanders' in Season 4

*Working title: 'The Beast'