Doctor Who Logo 'Day of the Daleks'
(4 Parts)
Story Code 'KKK'

by Louis Marks
The Doctor

UNIT are in charge of security at a World Peace conference at the country house of the peace diplomat, Sir Reginald Styles. Styles narrowly survives an assassination attempt by a guerrilla fighter, who then vanishes in front of him like a ghost. The guerrilla is later attacked by ape-like creatures called Ogrons, and found unconscious outside the house. The Doctor finds that the guerrilla is from the 22nd Century, and a device that he is carrying is a time machine. While Styles is away, the Doctor and Jo mind the house, and when the guerrillas attack once more, he is mistaken for the diplomat. The Doctor manages to convince them of his true identity, and learns from their leader, Anat, that they are after Styles because in the 20th Century, he was responsible for the death of the world leaders in an explosion at his house. This led to a series of wars, and after the conflict had weakened humanity, the Daleks arrived and conquered the Earth. Jo accidentally activates one of the guerrillas' time machines, and is transported into the future; the Doctor and the others follow her. The Doctor and Jo are captured by the Daleks, and taken to their base. Here they meet the Controller, the leader of the human collaborators. The Doctor realises that the real murderer was Shura, one of the guerrillas sent to kill Styles. Pursued by Daleks and Ogrons, the Doctor escapes and returns to the 20th Century, where he has Styles' house evacuated. Shura is hidden in the cellar, and he activates the bomb, destroying the Daleks and Ogrons, and ensuring that the future is saved.

Jon Pertwee (Doctor Who), Katy Manning (Jo Grant), Nicholas Courtney (Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart), Aubrey Woods (Controller), Richard Franklin (Captain Yates), John Levene (Sergeant Benton), Anna Barry (Anat), Jimmy Winston (Shura), Scott Fredericks (Boaz), Wilfred Carter (Sir Reginald Styles), Jean McFarlane (Miss Paget), Deborah Brayshaw (Girl Technician), Gypsie Kemp (U.N.I.T. Radio Operator), Tim Condren (Guerilla) , Rick Lester, Maurice Bush, David Joyce, Frank Menzies, Bruce Wells, Geoff Todd (Ogrons); John Scott Martin, Rick Newby, Murphy Grumbar (Daleks); Oliver Gilbert, Peter Messaline (Dalek Voices); Valentine Palmer (Monia), Peter Hill (Manager), Andrew Carr (Senior Guard), George Raistrick (Guard at Work Centre), Alex Macintosh (Television Reporter)

Produced by Barry Letts
Directed by Paul Bernard

Part 1 - 1st January, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 2 - 8th January, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 3 - 15th January, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 4 - 22nd January, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm

*Featuring the Third Doctor, Jo, the Brigadier and UNIT

*First appearance of the Ogrons

*Working titles: 'Years of Doom', 'The Ghost Hunters' and 'The Time Warriors'