Doctor Who Logo 'The Evil of the Daleks'
(7 Parts)
Story Code 'LL'

by David Whitaker
The Doctor

The TARDIS is stolen from Gatwick airport, and driven away on the back of a lorry. The Doctor and Jamie follow it to a Victorian Antique shop, which is owned by Edward Waterfield. The time travellers are caught in a trap, and they, together with Waterfield, are transported back in time 100 years, to the home of the scientist Theodore Maxtible. Maxtible, with Waterfield's help, has devised a method of time-travel, utilising the properties of mirrors, static electricity - and the Daleks. The Daleks have Waterfield's daughter, Victoria, hostage, and he is being forced to co-operate in their plan to abduct the Doctor. The Daleks are after the 'Human Factor' - the qualities that they believe enable humans to triumph in their battles with the Daleks - and they plan to use this to create an army of super-Daleks. The Doctor is forced to run an experiment on Jamie, to register every emotion that he experiences in his attempts to rescue Victoria. The plan goes wrong - three experimental Daleks take on the attitudes of playful friendliness instead of the hoped for cunning and ruthlessness. All the Daleks are recalled to their home planet of Skaro, where the Dalek Emperor reveals the true purpose of the experiments - he plans to inject the Doctor with the 'Dalek Factor', which he will then take back to Earth, to turn all humans into Dalek-like creatures. The Doctor is passed through a transformation machine, but remains unaffected, as he is not human. Instead, some of the Daleks are humanised, and civil war erupts; Maxible is turned into a Dalek-like creature, and is killed, and Victoria's father saves the Doctor at the cost of his own life. As the Daleks appear to be completely destroyed, the Doctor, Jamie and Victoria leave in the TARDIS.

Patrick Troughton (Dr Who), Frazer Hines (Jamie), Alec Ross (Bob Hall), Griffith Davies (Kennedy), John Bailey (Edward Waterfield), Geoffrey Colville (Perry), Deborah Watling (Victoria Waterfield), Robert Jewell, Gerald Taylor, John Scott Martin, Murphy Grumbar, Ken Tyllsen (Daleks); Roy Skelton, Peter Hawkins (Dalek Voices); Jo Rowbottom (Mollie Dawson), Marius Goring (Theodore Maxtible), Brigit Forsyth (Ruth Maxtible), Gary Watson (Arthur Terrall), Windsor Davies (Toby), Sonny Caldinez (Kemel)

Produced by Innes Lloyd
Directed by Derek Martinus

Part 1 - 20th May, 1967 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 2 - 27th May, 1967 @ 5.45pm - 6.10pm
Part 3 - 3rd June, 1967 @ 5.45pm - 6.10pm
Part 4 - 10th June, 1967 @ 5.45pm - 6.10pm
Part 5 - 17th June, 1967 @ 5.45pm - 6.10pm
Part 6 - 24th June, 1967 @ 5.45pm - 6.10pm
Part 7 - 1st July, 1967 @ 6.25pm - 6.50pm

*Featuring the Second Doctor, Jamie and introducing Victoria Waterfield

*Music heard in the episode: 'Paperback Writer' peformed by The Beatles, and 'Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen' by the Seekers

*Parts 1 and 3-7 are missing but audio recordings, telesnaps and a clip from part 7 exist

*Working title: 'The Daleks' (individual episodes also had titles: 'To Set a Trap...', 'The Net Tightens', 'A Trial of Strength', 'A Test of Skill', 'The Human Factor', and 'The End of the Daleks')