Doctor Who Logo 'Frontier in Space'
(6 Parts)
Story Code 'QQQ'

by Malcolm Hulke
The Doctor

In order to avoid a collision in space, the TARDIS materialises aboard an Earth spaceship in 2540. The ship is then attacked, and the crew see the Doctor and Jo as Draconians, a race whose empire currently rivals that of Earth's for control of the galaxy. However, the Doctor and Jo see that the attackers are actually Ogrons, who stun everyone aboard, and steal both the cargo and the TARDIS. The Doctor is accused by the Earth authorities of being a Draconian spy, and is sent to a penal colony on the Moon; Jo is placed in the custody of a commissioner from Sirius 4, who is actually the Master. The Master rescues the Doctor, and imprisons him and Jo aboard a stolen police spaceship. A Draconian spaceship intercepts them, and the Doctor, Jo and the Master are taken to the planet Draconia. The Doctor is able to convince the Draconian emperor of the Master's scheme to provoke a war, by using the Ogrons and a hypnotic device, which makes those affected by it see that which they most fear. Jo is recaptured by the Master and taken to the home world of the Ogrons, where the Master has stored the Doctor's TARDIS. The Doctor follows with a presidential emissary from Earth, General Williams, and a Draconian prince. The Master is actually working for the Daleks, who want interplanetary war to break out so that they can invade in the aftermath. As the Daleks leave to prepare their forces, the Doctor and his companions are placed in the Master's custody, but they manage to escape. Williams and the Draconian prince leave to warn their respective races of the Daleks' plan, but the Doctor is injured in the confusion, and only just makes it back into the TARDIS, where he sends a telepathic message to the Time Lords before collapsing...

Jon Pertwee (Dr. Who), Katy Manning (Jo Grant), Vera Fusek (President of Earth), Michael Hawkins (General Williams), Peter Birrell (Draconian Prince), Ray Lonnen (Gardiner), Barry Ashton (Kemp), John Rees (Hardy), James Culliford (Stewart), Louis Mahoney (Newcaster), Roy Pattison (Draconian Space Pilot)', Karol Hagar (Secretary), Lawrence Davidson (Draconian First Secretary), Timothy Craven (Cell Guard), Roger Delgado (The Master) [3-6], Harold Goldblatt (Professor Dale), Madhav Sharma (Patel), Dennis Bowen (Prison Governor), Richard Shaw (Cross), Luan Peters (Sheila), Caroline Hunt (Technician), Lawrence Harrington (Lunar Guard), Bill Wilde (Draconian Captain), John Woodnutt (Draconian Emperor), Ian Frost (Draconian Messenger), Clifford Elkin (Earth Cruiser Captain), Stephen Thorne (First Ogron), Michael Kilgariff (Second Ogron), Rick Lester (Third Ogron), Ramsay Williams (Congressman Brook), Bill Mitchell (Newcaster), Stanley Price (Pilot of Space Ship); John Scott Martin, Murphy Grumbar, Cy Town (Daleks); Michael Wisher (Dalek Voice)

Produced by Barry Letts
Directed by Paul Bernard

Part 1 - 24th February, 1973 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 2 - 3rd March, 1973 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 3 - 10th March, 1973 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 4 - 17th March, 1973 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 5 - 24th March, 1973 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 6 - 31st March, 1973 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm

*Featuring the Third Doctor and Jo

*First appearance of the Draconians