Doctor Who Logo 'Fury from the Deep'
(6 Parts)
Story Code 'RR'

by Victor Pemberton
The Doctor

The TARDIS lands on the surface of the sea, off the east coast of England, and the Doctor, Jamie and Victoria row ashore on a dinghy. Security guards capture them, as they have arrived in a restricted area, and they are taken to a North Sea gas refinery. Here, the boss, Robson, blames them for the disappearance of rig crews, and for the leaks and build-ups of pressure that have been caused in the pipelines. The Doctor hears strange heartbeats in the pipelines, but Robson refuses to halt the gas flow. The noises are caused by a parasitic seaweed, which absorbs human brains, and transforms men into Weed Creatures with the use of a foam-like substance. The weed launches an attack on the refinery, but after Victoria's screams kill one, the Doctor realises that the creatures are susceptible to high-frequency sound waves. They use Victoria's amplified screams to destroy the creatures. Victoria decides to remain at the refinery, and is adopted by the Harrises.

Patrick Troughton (Dr Who), Frazer Hines (Jamie), Deborah Watling (Victoria), Victor Maddern (Robson), Roy Spencer (Harris), Graham Leaman (Price), Peter Ducrow (Guard), June Murphy (Maggie Harri), John Garvin (Carney), Hubert Rees (Chief Engineer), John Abineri (Van Lutyens), Richard Mayes (Chief Baxter), Bill Burridge (Quill), John Gill (Oak), Margaret John (Megan Jones), Brian Cullingford (Perkins)

Produced by Derek Sherwin
Directed by Hugh David

Part 1 - 16th March, 1968 @ 5.15pm - 5.40pm
Part 2 - 23rd March, 1968 @ 5.15pm - 5.40pm
Part 3 - 30th March, 1968 @ 5.15pm - 5.40pm
Part 4 - 6th April, 1968 @ 5.15pm - 5.40pm
Part 5 - 13th April, 1968 @ 5.15pm - 5.40pm
Part 6 - 20th April, 1968 @ 5.15pm - 5.40pm

*Featuring the Second Doctor, Jamie and Victoria

*First appearance of the Doctor's sonic screwdriver

*All episodes are missing but audio recordings, telesnaps and some clips from parts 1, 2, 4 and 5 exist

*Working title: 'Colony of Devils'