Doctor Who Logo 'The Highlanders'
(4 Parts)
Story Code 'FF'

by Gerry Davis
and Elwyn Jones
The Doctor

The TARDIS lands in Scotland, on a moor near the battlefield of Culloden, in 1746. The Scots, led by Bonnie Prince Charlie, have just been defeated by the English. The Doctor, Ben and Polly encounter a group of hunted highlanders, led by the clan laird, Colin McLaren, who is accompanied by his daughter Kirsty, and their faithful piper Jamie McCrimmon, but they are soon captured by the English Lieutenant Algernon Ffinch. Arriving at the English camp, they are sold to a crooked solicitor named Gray, who is working on a scheme to transport prisoners to slavery in the West Indies. The Doctor escapes, and provides arms to the Scots, who are being held aboard a stolen ship, the Annabel. Gray and the captain, Trask, are overpowered, and the ship returned to its owner, MacKay, who takes the highlanders away to the safety of France. Jamie joins the Doctor and his companions in the TARDIS.

Patrick Troughton (Dr Who), Anneke Wills (Polly), Michael Craze (Ben Jackson), Frazer Hines (Jamie), William Dysart (Alexander), Donald Bisset (The Laird), Hannah Gordon (Kirsty), Michael Elwyn (Lt. Algernon Ffinch), Peter Welch (Sergeant), David Garth (Solicitor Grey), Sydney Arnold (Perkins), Tom Bowman (Sentry), Dallas Cavell (Trask), Barbara Bruce (Mollie), Andrew Downie (Willie Mackay), Peter Diamond (Sailor), Guy Middleton (Colonel Attwood)

Produced by Innes Lloyd
Directed by Hugh David

Part 1 - 17th December, 1966 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 2 - 24th December, 1966 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 3 - 31st December, 1966 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 4 - 7th January, 1967 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm

*Featuring the Second Doctor, Ben and Polly, and introducing Jamie

*All episodes are missing but audio recordings, telesnaps and some clips from part 1 exist

*Working title: 'Culloden'