Doctor Who Logo 'The Horror of Fang Rock'
(4 Parts)
Story Code '4V'

by Terrance Dicks
The Doctor

On the remote island of Fang Rock, at the turn of the twentieth century, Vince, one of a group of lighthouse keepers, witnesses a light fall from the stars into the sea, which he reports to his fellow keepers, Ben and Reuben. The TARDIS arrives, and the Doctor and Leela seek shelter in the lighthouse, just as Ben's body is found electrocuted and hidden behind the generator. The two travellers are blamed for the murder, and a freak fog bank then descends outside, causing a passing ship to crash into the rocks. The survivors, Colonel Skinsale, Lord Palmerdale, Adelaide Lesage and Harker, are rescued and brought to the lighthouse. After more murders, the Doctor discovers that they are all prey to a Rutan, once of the shape shifting race involved with the ongoing war with the Sontaran Empire, and whose spaceship crashed into the sea. The Rutan, which feeds off electricity, has been masquerading as Ruben, having killed the old keeper and hidden his body. After the creature reverts back to its natural, jelly-like state, the Doctor and Leela, now the only survivors, fight back by blasting the Rutan with a makeshift mortar bomb, killing it. But a Rutan mothership is on its way to collect the creature. The Doctor rigs up the lighthouse lamp with a diamond taken from a cache held by the now dead Skinsdale, creating a powerful laser beam that destroys the approaching ship.

Tom Baker (Doctor Who), Louise Jameson (Leela), John Abbott (Vince), Colin Douglas (Reuben), Ralph Watson (Ben), Sean Caffrey (Lord Palmerdale), Alan Rowe (Skinsale), Annette Woollett (Adelaide), Rio Fanning (Harker)

Produced by Graham Williams
Directed by Paddy Russell

Part 1 - 3rd September, 1977 @ 6.15pm - 6.40pm
Part 2 - 10th September, 1977 @ 6.15pm - 6.40pm
Part 3 - 17th September, 1977 @ 6.15pm - 6.40pm
Part 4 - 24th September, 1977 @ 6.15pm - 6.40pm

*Featuring the Fourth Doctor and Leela

*First appearance of the Rutans

*Working titles: 'The Rocks of Doom', 'Rhe Monster of Fang Rock' and 'The Beast of Fang Rock'