Doctor Who Logo 'The Masque of Mandragora'
(4 Parts)
Story Code '4M'

by Louis Marks
The Doctor

The TARDIS is drawn into the Mandragora Helix, a spiral of alien energy. While the Doctor and Sarah leave the ship to explore, a portion of the helix energy conceals itself aboard the ship. After the time travellers return, the TARDIS takes them to fifteenth century Renaissance Italy, in the Dukedom of San Martino. The Doctor and Sarah find themselves embroiled in the machinations of Count Federico, who is planning to usurp the rule of his nephew Giuliano, whose accession to the dukedom is imminent. Federico is aided by the court astrologer, Hieronymous, who is also the leader of the Brotherhood of Demnos, a cult of star worshippers. The helix energy escapes from the TARDIS, and possesses Hieronymous, planning to use him to form a bridgehead to the rest of its energy, thereby enabling it to destroy the great minds of the Renaissance, in order to plunge the world back into the Dark Ages. Giuliano's accession is to be marked by a masque, during which the Brotherhood of Demnos attack, and Hieronymous, now completely overtaken by the Mandragora energy, kills the Count, and confronts the Doctor in an underground temple. However, the Doctor has earthed himself and the altar, so that the Mandragora energy that is being blasted at him is simply drained away, removing the threat of the helix, and allowing history to take its natural course.

Tom Baker (Doctor Who), Elisabeth Sladen (Sarah Jane Smith), Jon Laurimore (Count Federico), Anthony Carrick (Captain Rossini), Tim Piggot-Smith (Marco), Gareth Armstrong (Giuliano), Norman Jones (Hieronymous), Robert James (High Priest), Brian Ellis (Brother), Pat Gorman (Soldier); James Appleby, John Clamp (Guards); Jay Neill, Peter Walshe (Pikemen); Peter Tuddenham (Titan Voice); Peggy Dixon, Jack Edwards, Alistair Fullarton, Michael Reid, Kathy Wolff (Dancers); Stuart Fell (Entertainer)

Produced by Philip Hinchcliffe
Directed by Rodney Bennett

Part 1 - 4th September, 1976 @ 6.10pm - 6.35pm
Part 2 - 11th September, 1976 @ 6.05pm - 6.30pm
Part 3 - 18th September, 1976 @ 6.10pm - 6.35pm
Part 4 - 25th September, 1976 @ 6.10pm - 6.35pm

*Featuring the Fourth Doctor and Sarah

*Working titles: 'The Curse of Mandragora', 'The Catacombs of Death', 'Doom of Destiny' and 'Secret of the Labyrinth'