Doctor Who Logo 'Resurrection of the Daleks'
(4 Parts)
Story Code '6P'

by Eric Saward
The Doctor

The TARDIS is pulled through a time corridor to the London docks in the late twentieth century. The Doctor, Tegan and Turlough encounter Stien, an escapee from a Dalek battle cruiser in the future. The cruiser is commanded by the Black Dalek, whose Dalek troops and human mercenaries, commanded by Lytton, have just taken over the space prison in which Davros has been imprisoned, frozen for ninety years. The Daleks need Davros' help to neutralise a deadly virus that has been developed by their long-term adversaries, the android Movellans. But Davros plots to regain his leadership, and takes control of the minds of several Daleks. Stien is revealed to be a Dalek replica, a human genetically engineered by the Daleks; the evil creatures plan to capture the Doctor, Tegan and Turlough, and replace them with replicas, which will then travel to Gallifrey and assassinate the High Council. The Daleks will then be able to use their time technology to become masters of all time. The Doctor is able to convince Stien of the Daleks' evil, and breaks his conditioning; he then confronts Davros, but is unable to kill the insane scientist. While the Black Dalek's forces and those Daleks loyal to Davros wage war, the Movellan virus infects Davros. Stien, fighting against his conditioning, activates the self-destruct switch, destroying the space station and the Dalek ship. Meanwhile, on Earth, the Doctor uses the virus to dispose of the remaining Daleks, while Lytton and his two Dalek duplicates, disguised as policemen, manage to escape. Tegan tells the Doctor that she is tired of all the killing, and leaves the TARDIS crew.

Peter Davison (The Doctor), Janet Fielding (Tegan), Mark Strickson (Turlough), Rodney Bewes (Stien), Rula Lenska (Styles), Del Henney (Colonel Archer), Maurice Colbourne (Lytton), Chloe Ashcroft (Professor Laird), Philip McGough (Sergeant Calder), Terry Molloy (Davros), Jim Findley (Mercer), Sneh Gupta (Osborn), Roger Davenport (Trooper); John Adam Baker, Linsey Turner (Crewmembers); William Sleigh (Galloway); Brian Miller, Royce Mills (Dalek Voices); John Scott Martin, Cy Town, Tony Starr, Toby Byrne (Dalek Operators); Les Grantham (Kiston)

Produced by John Nathan-Turner
Directed by Matthew Robinson

Part 1 - 8th February, 1984 @ 6.50pm - 7.35pm
Part 2 - 15th February, 1984 @ 6.50pm - 7.40pm

*Featuring the Fifth Doctor, Tegan, and Turlough

*First appearance of Lytton

*The story was originally 4 parts, but edited into 2 x 45 minute episodes due to coverage of the Winter Olympics

*Working titles: 'The Return' and 'Warhead'