Doctor Who Logo 'The Smugglers'
(4 Parts)
Story Code 'CC'

by Brian Hayles
The Doctor

The TARDIS materialises on the Cornish coast in the 17th century. Here, Captain Samuel Pike and his pirates are searching for hidden treasure, whilst a smuggling ring led by the local squire is dealing in contraband. The Doctor learns a cryptic rhyme from the churchwarden, which holds the secret location of the treasure, but Pike's men capture him. The rhyme refers to tombstone names in the church's crypt, and the pirate captain uncovers the treasure. At this point, the militia, who have been called in by the Revenue officer Josiah Blake, arrive and a fight ensues between them and the pirates. Pike is killed, and his crew are killed and captured; the Doctor and his friends leave in the TARDIS.

Hartnell (Dr Who), Anneke Wills (Polly), Michael Craze (Ben Jackson), Terence de Marney (Churchwarden), George A. Cooper (Cherub), David Blake Kelly (Jacob Kewper), Mike Lucas (Tom), Paul Whitsun-Jones (Squire), Derek Ware (Spaniard), Michael Godfrey (Captain Pike), Elroy Josephs (Jamaica), John Ringham (Blake), Jack Bligh (Gaptooth)

Produced by Innes Lloyd
Directed by Julia Smith

Part 1 - 10th September, 1966 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 2 - 17th September, 1966 @ 5.55pm - 6.20pm
Part 3 - 24th September, 1966 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 4 - 1st October, 1966 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm

*Featuring the First Doctor, Ben and Polly

*All episodes are missing but audio recordings, telesnaps and some clips from parts 1,3 and 4 exist