Doctor Who Logo 'State of Decay'
(4 Parts)
Story Code '5P'

by Terrance Dicks
The Doctor

Searching for a way back into N-Space, the Doctor and Romana arrive in the TARDIS on a medieval-like planet. Here, they find that the villagers are governed by the Three Who Rule - King Zargo, Queen Camilla and their councillor, Aukon. These rulers, who live in a high tower overlooking the village, have outlawed technological equipment, and decree that young villagers be taken from their homes and brought to them, never to be seen again. After the Doctor and Romana are captured by a group of rebel scientists, led by Kalmar, Adric leaves the TARDIS and meets the villagers, only to become one of those chosen by the royal guards. He is taken to Aukon, who attempts to put the young boy under his influence. Meanwhile, the Doctor and Romana enter the tower and discover that it is in fact a spaceship, The Hydrax, which, hundreds of years ago, was pulled through the Charged Vacuum Emboitment into N-Space just like the TARDIS was. Furthermore, the King, Queen and Chancellor are not the descendants of the original crew, they are the original crew. The Great Vampire, the last survivor of a race of creatures that the Time Lords themselves fought millennia ago, has turned them into vampires. The gigantic form of the Great Vampire is sleeping below the tower, absorbing the blood the Three have taken from the chosen villagers, in order to regain its strength and rise again. The Doctor manages to convince Adric of the real identities of the rulers, and then activates one of the ship's shuttles to take off and then plummet into the ground, impaling and killing the Vampire. Their master destroyed, Zargo, Camilla and Aukon crumble into dust.

Tom Baker (Doctor Who), Romana (Lalla Ward), Voice of K9 (John Leeson), Matthew Waterhouse (Adric), Emrys James (Aukon), Rachel Davies (Camilla), William Lindsay (Zargo), Clinton Greyn (Ivo), Rhoda Lewis (Marta), Thane Bettany (Tarak), Iain Rattray (Habris), Arthur Hewlett (Kalmar), Stacy Davies (Veros), Dean Allen (Karl), Stuart Fell (Roga), Stuart Blake (Zoldaz)

Produced by John Nathan-Turner
Directed by Peter Moffat

Part 1 - 22nd November, 1980 @ 5.40pm - 6.05pm
Part 2 - 29th November, 1980 @ 5.40pm - 6.05pm
Part 3 - 6th December, 1980 @ 5.40pm - 6.05pm
Part 4 - 13th December, 1980 @ 5.40pm - 6.05pm

*Featuring the Fourth Doctor, the Second Romana, K-9 MKII, and Adric

*Working titles: 'The Vampire Mutations' and 'The Wasting'

*Part 2 of the 'E-Space Trilogy'