Doctor Who Logo The Time Monster
(6 Parts)
Story Code 'OOO'

by Robert Sloman
The Doctor

At the Newton Institute in Wootton, Professor Thascales and his assistants are constructing a device known as TOMTIT -Transmission of Matter Through Interstitial Time. Thascales is actually the Master in disguise, and he is planning to use the machine to travel through time to the lost city of Atlantis in order to steal the Crystal of Kronos, thereby giving him control over Kronos, an entity that lives and feeds on time itself. The Doctor attempts to stop him, but the creature is summoned, and is totally uncontrollable. The Master flees, and Doctor shuts the TOMTIT down, but the Master later reactivates it, using it first to ensnare Krasis, the high priest of Atlantis, and then to attack the UNIT forces with a series of timeslips. The Master takes Krasis back to Atlantis in his TARDIS, and the Doctor and Jo follow in the Doctor's time machine, where they are unable to prevent the Master from killing King Dalios, and seducing Queen Galleia. The Master stages a coup, but is betrayed by Galleia when she learns that he was responsible for the death of her husband. The Master unleashes Kronos, destroying Atlantis, and takes Jo hostage and escapes in his TARDIS. The Doctor pursues him, and confronts his nemesis in the time vortex, where h threatens to activate a time-ram - a devastating space/time collision. He is unable to bring himself to activate the ram, but Jo has no such qualms, and activates the Master's TARDIS controls, activating the time-ram. The two TARDIS reappear in a strange void, which is presided over by Kronos, who now appears as a beautiful female. The time-ram released Kronos, who agrees to return the Doctor and Jo to Earth, and plans to subject the Master to eternal torment. The Doctor pleads on the Master's behalf, and he too goes free.

Jon Pertwee (Dr. Who), Katy Manning (Jo Grant), Roger Delgado (Master), Nicholas Courtney (Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart), Richard Franklin (Captain Mike Yates), John Levene (Sergeant Benton), Wanda Moore (Dr. Ruth Ingram), Ian Collier (Stuart Hyde), John Wyse (Dr. Percival), Neville Barber (Dr. Cook), Barry Ahton (Proctor), Terry Walsh (Window Cleaner), Donald Eccles (Krasis), Aidan Murphy (Hippias), Keith Dalton (Neophite), Simon Legree (Unit Sergeant), Marc Boyle (Kronos), George Cormack (Dalios), Gregory Powell (Knight), Dave Carter (Roundhead Officer), George Lee (Farmworker), Ingrid Pitt (Galleia), Derek Murcott (Crito), Susan Penhaligon (Lakis), Michael Walker (Miseus), Melville Jones (Guard), Dave Prowse (Minotaur), Ingrid Bower (Face of Kronos)

Produced by Barry Letts
Directed by Paul Bernard

Part 1 - 20th May, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 2 - 27th May, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 3 - 3rd June, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 4 - 10th June, 1972 @ 5.50pm - 6.15pm
Part 5 - 17th June, 1972 @ 5.45pm - 6.10pm
Part 6 - 24th June, 1972 @ 5.45pm - 6.10pm

*Featuring the Third Doctor, Jo, the Brigadier and UNIT

*First appearance of the Chronovores